Monthly Archives: January 2021

Book Review: Out of Hounds by Rita Mae Brown

From Goodreads: “Sister” Jane Arnold and her hounds must sniff out a thief with expensive taste when a string of missing paintings leads to murder in this exciting foxhunting mystery from New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown. Spring is peeking … Continue reading

Posted in ARC Reads, Book Reviews, Mystery, NetGalley | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Book Review: In the Garden of Spite by Camilla Bruce

From Goodreads: An audacious novel of feminine rage about one of the most prolific female serial killers in American history–and the men who drove her to it. They whisper about her in Chicago. Men come to her with their hopes, … Continue reading

Posted in ARC Reads, Historical Fiction, NetGalley | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Cover Reveal: The Worlds That Separated Us by Megan Jayne

The Worlds That Separated UsMegan JaynePublication date: May 1st, 2021Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Synopsis: University graduate Rosie is from Earth. At least she’s never had cause to question that before now. After a car accident and an oddly familiar stranger turn her world … Continue reading

Posted in Cover Reveals, Fantasy, Xpresso Tours, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Book Beginnings on Friday and Book Blogger Hop – January 15, 2021

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted each week by Rose City Reader. It’s a chance to share the first sentence or so of the book you are reading this week. I’ve finished several books this week! Just finished The Broken Spine by … Continue reading

Posted in Book Beginnings on Fridays, Book Blogger Hop, Book Memes | 2 Comments

Book Review: Hope, Faith & a Corpse by Laura Jensen Walker

From Goodreads: In the tradition of M. C. Beaton, Hope Taylor, pastor of a small-town California church, tries to find out who sent a church elder to Heaven. Hope Taylor arrives in Apple Springs to start her new life as … Continue reading

Posted in ARC Reads, Book Reviews, Cozy Mystery, NetGalley | Leave a comment

Tornado Warning at Taco Bell

Y’all thought I was all about reading and reviewing books here, didn’t you? Surprise! I occasionally take a stab at writing something other than a blog. Most recently, I entered the NYC Midnight 250-word microfiction competition. For those of you … Continue reading

Posted in In Which I Attempt to Write | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Ink and Shadows by Ellery Adams

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights books soon to be released, the ones we’re excited about but haven’t read yet. It’s hosted by Wishful Endings, and was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine. Y’all can check out all of this week’s … Continue reading

Posted in Book Memes, Can't-Wait Wednesday, Mystery | Tagged , | 7 Comments

Book Review: Lore by Alexandra Bracken

From Goodreads: Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize … Continue reading

Posted in ARC Reads, Book Reviews, Fantasy, NetGalley, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Book Review: Lana’s War by Anita Abriel

From Goodreads: Paris 1943: Lana Antanova is on her way to see her husband with the thrilling news that she is pregnant. But when she arrives at the convent where he teaches music, she’s horrified to see Gestapo officers execute … Continue reading

Posted in ARC Reads, Book Reviews, Historical Fiction, NetGalley | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Book Beginnings on Friday and Book Blogger Hop – January 8, 2021

Friday Book Beginnings is hosted each week by Rose City Reader. It’s a chance to share the first sentence or so of the book you are reading this week. This week I’m reading We Could Be Heroes by Mike Chen. It will … Continue reading

Posted in Book Beginnings on Fridays, Book Blogger Hop, Book Memes | Tagged , , | 16 Comments