Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Blind Faith by Alicia Beckman

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights books soon to be released, the ones we’re excited about but haven’t read yet. It’s hosted by Wishful Endings, and was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine. Y’all can check out all of this week’s Can’t-Wait Wednesday posts here.

  • Title: Blind Faith
  • Author: Alicia Beckman
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Release Date: October 11, 2022

Synopsis:

Long-buried secrets come back with a vengeance in a cold case gone red-hot in Agatha Award-winning author Alicia Beckman’s second novel, perfect for fans of Laura Lippman and Greer Hendricks.

For decades, the unsolved murder of Father Michael Leary has haunted Billings, Montana, the community he served. Who summoned the priest late one autumn night, then left his body in a sandstone gully for the ravens and other wild scavengers?

And it’s haunted no one more than Lindsay Keller, who admired and confided in him as a teenager. Compelled by his example to work for justice, she became a prosecutor. But after a devastating case left her shattered, she fled the rough-and-tumble for the safety of a desk, handling real estate deals and historic preservation projects. Good work, but not what she’d dreamed of.

Now Lindsay finds herself in possession of the priest’s wallet, the photo of a young girl tucked inside. She’s sure she knows the girl, and that it’s tied to his death. But how?

Detective Brian Donovan, a hot-shot Boston transplant, would like nothing more than to solve the county’s coldest case. Probing the life and death of Father Leary takes Lindsay and Donovan deep into long-simmering tensions in this seemingly-peaceful place.

Then another woman far away digs up unexpected clues about her own family’s past—a history rooted in a shocking truth—and her questions bring her to Lindsay and the detective. But the dangerous answers could rock the community to its very core.

My thoughts:

I’ve read some of the cozy mysteries the author writes as Leslie Budewitz and thoroughly enjoyed them. I can’t wait to see how she does with suspense! Does the synopsis grab your attention?

What are you waiting for this week? Let me know in a comment!

This entry was posted in Book Memes, Can't-Wait Wednesday, Mystery, Suspense. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Blind Faith by Alicia Beckman

  1. Maryann says:

    Thanks for the introduction to a new author and the new book. I’ll be sure to check it out as I’m a big fan of suspense novels.

    And yes, the synopsis did peak my interest for sure.

  2. Ashley S. says:

    The synopsis definitely grabbed my attention. I’m very intrigued! Thanks for sharing! Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  3. Cindy Davis says:

    I enjoy suspense but have not read this author. It sounds intriguing! I hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it.

  4. Jodie says:

    I do enjoy a good suspense book especially as we head into October! I hope that you enjoy this book when you get the chance to read it.

  5. This sounds good, hope you enjoy it when you read it.

  6. I like the sound of it. Adding it to my tbr list. Thanks for sharing it.

  7. sjhigbee says:

    US small-town mysteries equate with English country-house whodunits, I always think:). I hope you enjoy this one, Lisa.

  8. Definitely sounds like an edge of your seat kind of read. Hope you enjoy this one!

  9. The cover is really nice to look at. It took me a few seconds before I realized that the title was between the trees… Happy reading.

  10. Susan Dyer says:

    Oh a new to me author! This sounds really good Lisa and I’m heading to Goodreads to check out this author!📚💜

  11. This sounds like a great mystery and I love the small town setting. I hope this is a great read for you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.