Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Local Girl Missing (Detective Josie Quinn #15) by Lisa Regan

It’s that time again! The day of the week where I talk about the book I’m really looking forward to.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights books soon to be released, the ones we’re excited about but haven’t read yet. It’s hosted by Wishful Endings, and was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine. Y’all can check out all of this week’s Can’t-Wait Wednesday posts here.

Title: Local Girl Missing

Series: Detective Josie Quinn Book 15

Author: Lisa Regan

Genre: Detective Fiction, Thriller, Suspense

Publication Date: August 11, 2022

Publisher: Bookouture

Synopsis:

Through swirling dawn fog, they follow the trail of discarded items at their feet: a tube of glittery lip gloss; a cell phone; a cracked make-up compact, broken chunks of ivory powder spilling into the grass. Then the mist parts—just for a second—to reveal a beautiful young girl on the ground, her pale lips frozen forever in a silent scream…

On a winding mountain road into the small town of Denton, Pennsylvania, Detective Josie Quinn finds the body of a local teenage girl, Dina Hale. The sight of plum-colored bruises gathering around the girl’s neck pierces Josie’s heart, but the discovery of a second girl’s empty purse in the dirt nearby gives her a flicker of hope that one person, at least, made a lucky escape.

Dina’s parents are grief-stricken as the town rallies together in a desperate search for the second girl, Alison Mills, who waitressed with Dina at a local hotel. The two best friends were on their way to a shift when they were attacked. Josie was too late to save Dina, but she won’t rest until Alison is home safe.

Hitting a dead-end with interviews, Josie thinks she’s on to something when a photo surfaces suggesting Alison was romantically involved with one of the hotel staff. But when Josie arrives at the man’s house to find a bullet in his head, and the house ransacked, the case comes crashing down.

Evidence of frantic searching at both crime scenes has Josie convinced a twisted killer is on a hunt for something very personal and precious. And that they won’t stop until they find it. But how many innocent lives will be destroyed before Josie can uncover the missing piece at the heart of this deadly puzzle? And what sacrifices will she have to make to find Alison alive?

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine. WARNING: will keep you up all night flipping pages until dawn!

My thoughts:

If y’all have followed along with me, you know I absolutely love Lisa Regan’s Josie Quinn books! You can see my reviews of Watch Her Disappear, The Drowning Girls, and Her Deadly Touch here on the blog.

The word “unputdownable” is used so much these days, it makes me a little stabby. But with Lisa Regan’s books, it is 100% true. She writes books that keep me up waaaaaaaay past my bedtime, and I know this one will be no exception. I am super excited to have a review copy of this one, so I don’t have to wait until August 11 to get my grubbly little hands on it. Y’all will get to hear my thoughts on it in a few weeks!

Have you ever read one of Lisa Regan’s Detective Josie Quinn books? If you have, do you love them as much as I do? If not, does this one sound interesting enough to get you to jump into the series?

This entry was posted in Book Memes, Bookouture, Can't-Wait Wednesday, Crime Fiction, Detective Fiction, NetGalley, Suspense and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Local Girl Missing (Detective Josie Quinn #15) by Lisa Regan

  1. Tracy Burcham says:

    I absolutely LOVE Lisa’s Detective Josie Quinn books! And August 11 can’t get here quickly enough for me!!! I can’t wait to see what she gets herself into this time!

  2. Cindy Davis says:

    I have not read her books but I do enjoy books about missing people. I hope you enjoy this one when you get a chance to read it.

  3. Laura says:

    I haven’t read any of her books yet, but it sounds good. Adding it to my ever growing TBR list. Thanks for sharing!

  4. sjhigbee says:

    It’s such a treat when a much-loved author publishes another book in a favourite series – I hope this one is every bit as enjoyable as you anticipate!

  5. Laura@RBA says:

    I always love a good mystery. Thanks for the review. The sounds fascinating.

  6. Ashley S. says:

    I haven’t read her books yet, but this sounds so good! I love mysteries like this. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. May this one give you that thrilling ride you expect!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.