Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man (Girl Friday #1) by Emily J. Edwards

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights books soon to be released, the ones we’re excited about but haven’t read yet. It’s hosted by Wishful Endings, and was formerly hosted by Breaking the Spine. Y’all can check out all of this week’s Can’t-Wait Wednesday posts here.

Title: Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man

Author: Emily J. Edwards

Genre: Historical Mystery

Publication Date: November 8, 2022

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Synopsis:

Life as a secretary in New York just got tougher when Viviana Valentine’s boss goes M.I.A in this debut historical mystery, perfect for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal and Frances Brody.

New York City, 1950. Viviana Valentine is Girl Friday to the city’s top private investigator, Tommy Fortuna. The clients can be frustrating, and none more maddening than fabulously wealthy Tallmadge Blackstone, who demands Tommy tail his daughter, Tallulah, and find out why she won’t marry his business partner, a man forty years her senior. Sounds like an open-and-shut case for a P.I. known for busting up organized crime—but the next day, Viviana opens the office to find Tommy missing and a lifeless body on the floor.

The cops swoop in and Detective Jake Lawson issues a warrant for Tommy’s arrest. Desperate to clear Tommy’s name, Viviana takes on the Blackstone case herself. When she goes out for a night on the town with the heiress, she begins to learn the secrets behind Tallulah’s headline-grabbing life. Meanwhile, Lawson is itching to solve his murder case, and continues harassing Viviana for answers—until she’s the victim of a series of violent attacks.

But Tommy’s still missing, and Viviana is scared. As she digs into the dirty history of the Blackstone empire, she suddenly realizes the true danger at hand. Now, it’s up to her to find her missing boss and make sure he doesn’t turn up D.O.A.

My thoughts:

Oooh, doesn’t this one sound like fun! I love a good old-school detective story, and this sounds like a nice twist on that. Viviana Valentine is on the case after her boss is arrested on suspicion of murder. Y’all know she’s got to solve the case, right? And look at that cover! Wouldn’t that make you want to pick up the book and get to reading?

What book are you looking forward to this week?

This entry was posted in Book Memes, Can't-Wait Wednesday, Crime Fiction, Mystery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man (Girl Friday #1) by Emily J. Edwards

  1. Jodie says:

    I keep reading about historical romances and have yet to read one! This one sounds so good. I hope that you enjoy it when you have a chance to read it.

  2. Greg says:

    Ooh this looks like something I’d like. I’ve been flirting with reviewing more pulp/ noir/ old detective type stories and this would hit the spot!

  3. Cindy Davis says:

    When I looked at the cover I thought it was an older book! I hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.