Book Review and Blog Tour: Murder in Mayfair (Lady Eleanor Swift #18) by Verity Bright

Woohoo! Happy book birthday to Verity Bright! The latest in their Lady Eleanor Swift series, Murder in Mayfair, is out today.

Book: Murder in Mayfair
Author: Verity Bright
Pub Day: June 27, 2024 
Buy Link: Amazon

Book description:

Tea and cake at The Ritz, a stolen pearl necklace and a missing dead body… Lady Swift is back on the case!

Lady Eleanor Swift has been eagerly awaiting her trip in a hot air balloon to take in London’s amazing sights. But what she witnesses instead is a murder! From way up high she sees a man in a dark coat shoot another man dead, but by the time she arrives back on the ground, Eleanor can find no trace of the body. Just the broken piece of a pearl necklace clasp, trodden into the dirt.

Back at The Ritz hotel, over afternoon tea, Eleanor’s old friend Lady Philomena Chadwick confides in her about a scandalous theft. Lady Chadwick is certain someone on her staff has stolen her priceless pink pearl necklace. Eleanor is immediately suspicious when the description matches the jewellery she spotted at the crime scene.

Much to her butler Clifford’s amusement, Eleanor goes undercover as a governess in the Chadwick’s sparkling Mayfair mansion. As she sets about questioning the disgruntled staff, she uncovers a treasure trove of gossip. But how do a secret love affair, a flirty footman with a fondness for spying, and a housemaid hiding a nightly visitor connect to the murder?

And when Eleanor’s beau, Detective Hugh Seldon, is brought in to investigate a string of further robberies in Park Lane, Eleanor is certain that Chadwick House is hiding the unlikeliest gang of jewel thieves below stairs…

Diamonds are a girl’s best friend, but will this necklace get Eleanor killed before she uncovers the hidden gem she needs to crack the case?

Murder in Mayfair is a totally gripping and twisty Golden Age whodunnit set in London, perfect for fans of T.E. Kinsey, Agatha Christie and Catherine Coles!

Y’all know I love me a Lady Eleanor Swift mystery. I do believe this is the best one yet! Here Eleanor, Clifford, and the ladies are in London to visit the British Empire Expedition. Eleanor is looking forward to a hot air balloon ride as part of the excursion. She gets more than she bargained for, thought, when she sees what appears to be a murder taking place in one of the exhibit areas as the balloon passes over it.

Once she’s back on the ground, though, she finds the exhibit area closed and locked up. When she manages to get in, there’s no dead body, no sign that anything untoward occurred. But Ellie knows what she saw. When she runs into Lady Chadwick, an acquaintance, at teatime, she agrees to take a temporary role on Lady Chadwick’s household staff to investigate the apparent theft of a pearl necklace. She digs up lots of dirt, but what does any of it have to do with the necklace? And when Lady Chadwick’s butler is murdered, too, Ellie wonders if and how it connects to what she knows she saw at the exhibition.

There is so much to love in this book. As always, Ellie includes her ladies in the fun and shenanigans. They aren’t just staff to her, they’re family. The distinction between how she relates to her staff and how many others do is highlighted when Ellie goes undercover at the Chadwicks’. Clifford finds a way to stay involved when Ellie is working at the Chadwicks’, even getting Gladstone and Tomkins in on the fun. And of course we get to see Hugh in this one. Huzzah!

In fact, Hugh is the one who finds himself in danger in this one – not physical danger, but in harm’s way all the same. Against the direction of his higher-ups, Hugh helps Ellie and Clifford investigate the murder at the exhibition. And when the official heat comes down, Hugh is the one who takes it, to protect the others.

So why is Lady Chadwick being disingenuous with Ellie? How are the two deaths connected? Will Hugh lose his job? Verity Bright answers all these questions and more as the story unfolds. We also get to meet an apparent new member of the team, and I think he’ll be a fine addition. I hope we see more of him in future stories.

If you love a good cozy that doesn’t give away the ending too soon, that’s full of humor and camaraderie and enough tension to keep the pages turning, get to know Lady Eleanor and the gang. Perfect for summer reading, or anytime you’re in the mood for a delightful story!

Disclaimer: Thank you to Bookouture for a review copy of the book. All opinions here are mine, and I don’t say nice things about books I don’t actually like.

About the author:

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

Find them on Twitter at https://twitter.com/BrightVerity.

This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Bookouture, Cozy Mystery, Historical Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.