Book Review and Blog Tour: Her Dying Secret by Lisa Regan

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Her Dying Secret, #20 in Lisa Regan’s Detective Josie Quinn series!

Title:         HER DYING SECRET 

Author:     Lisa Regan  

Publication Day: MAY 14th 2024

Buy Links :
Amazon
Apple
Kobo
Google

 

Book description:

She gently opens the woman’s tightly clenched fist, uncurling each finger to reveal a square of folded paper hidden in her palm. Scrawled in thick crayon, beside a child’s crooked drawing of a red flower, is one word that sends a shiver through the evening mist: HELP

It was supposed to be a routine road accident recovery, but the moment Detective Josie Quinn sees the passenger—pale and painfully thin, a sharp tool lodged in her stomach—it’s clear she was the victim of something far more sinister, and likely dead before the crash. Watching the driver taken away in an ambulance, questions spin through Josie’s mind. Where were these two women going? Was the driver trying to save a life, or hide a body? And—most heartbreaking of all—is there a child in danger, crying out for help with no reply?

Josie quickly identifies the crash survivor as Mira Summers, a singleton and animal-lover on her way home from nearby stables. Mira swears she doesn’t know who the woman in the car beside her is, or how she was injured. And when she’s diagnosed with concussion and memory loss, Josie is forced to back down.

But the discovery of Mira’s prints on the child’s drawing is all the proof Josie needs that Mira knows more than she’s letting on, and a witness saw Mira meeting with a man with a gnarled diamond-shaped tattoo at the stables. In a race against the clock to track down this elusive man, Josie faces danger from the most unexpected places. Pushed to her limit, can she stay alive long enough to catch the killer and save the life of an innocent child?

An absolutely gripping and truly unputdownable crime thriller that will have you racing through pages until the final jaw-dropping twist hits you like a train. From an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, and perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

Lisa Regan does it again! Book 20 in her Detective Josie Quinn series, and each book continues to uphold the high bar she’s set.

Josie thinks she’s responding to a routine car accident, but it turns out to be anything but routine. The passenger is dead, but from her emaciated appearance and the pointy thing sticking out of her abdomen, it doesn’t look like it was the wreck that killed her. She’s got a piece of paper clutched in her hand, and it’s got the word HELP written on it in red crayon. The driver, Mira Summers, who was injured in the crash, insists she has no idea who the woman is or how she got in the car. She says she doesn’t know anything about that paper, and she has no children. But her prints on the paper would indicate she knows more than she lets on. And then Mira disappears.

This book. Up past my bedtime AGAIN. Couldn’t tear myself away AGAIN. Lisa Regan writes some of the best police procedurals I’ve ever read, but her books are more than just a formula. I feel like I know Josie and Noah and the team. I feel like they’re my friends, and had I worked with them when I was prosecuting, I think we would have gotten along swimmingly. They’re dedicated to their work and to doing it well, but they’re real people, too. Trying to do a good job while handling the crap life throws at all of us, only their job is a lot harder and more stressful than mine.

I don’t know where Ms. Regan gets all her inspiration from, either. Each book brings us a new twist on the capacity people have to be awful to each other. Here the focus is on how mental illness can affect not just the person suffering, but others in their sphere of influence as well. Sometimes it’s tough to read. There is a child involved in this story, and their situation isn’t always sunshine and roses. As Mira’s backstory unfolds, as we learn about the dead woman, my heart hurt for what they’d been through. My brain simply does not work to create scenarios like these, but man, I’m glad Lisa Regan’s does. It makes for some compelling reading.

And as an adoptee, I am super excited that Josie and Noah have decided to adopt! I’m thinking positively for them and hoping we see that story arc come to a happy conclusion (and beginning, because adopting a child would really be the beginning of a whole new adventure) in later books. I love that Ms. Regan lets us see these aspects of her characters’ personal lives. This is part of what makes her characters so good, these glimpses into things that go on with them outside of work.

Oh, I haven’t mentioned the new team member yet. Perhaps I should just say the new detective, because he certainly doesn’t act like a team player, and I’m pretty sure no one sees him that way. Kyle Turner. I think Josie must be biting a hole in her tongue to keep from telling him exactly what she thinks, and it sure seems like he never misses a chance to get in a dig or say something he knows will get a rise out of people. Is he just there to be that one co-worker everybody has had to deal with at some point? Will he ever learn how to work well with others? What backstory does he have that made him this way? I hope there’s more to come, because he is awfully fun to hate.

Kudos to you, Lisa Regan, on keeping Josie Quinn exciting and interesting and so much fun to read through twenty books. This is another five-star read as far as I’m concerned, and I’ll keep reading as long as Josie and crew keep having stories to tell!

Disclaimer: I received an advance copy of this book from Bookouture. I was not required to leave a review. All opinions here are mine, and I don’t say nice things about books I don’t actually like.

About the author:

Lisa Regan is the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Detective Josie Quinn series. Lisa is a member of Sisters In Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the U.S. with her husband, daughter, and Boston Terrier named Mr. Phillip. Find out more at her website: www.lisaregan.com

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads | Bookouture Email Sign-up

This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Bookouture, Detective Fiction, Police Procedural, Suspense and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review and Blog Tour: Her Dying Secret by Lisa Regan

  1. Cindy Davis says:

    Great review, Lisa!! It sounds so good! I love that it is the 20th book in the series. I love it when authors have the creativity to continue their series AND it is still doing well 🙂

  2. Sounds like one for me. Thanks for sharing your wonderful review.
    sherry @ fundinmental

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.