Book Review and Blog Tour: The Sapphire Daughter by Soraya Lane

Book: The Sapphire Daughter

Author: Soraya Lane

Pub Day: March 8, 2024

Buy Link(s): https://geni.us/B0CKW3Q7W8social

Book Description:

The Sapphire Daughter: A completely gripping and emotional page-turner (The Lost Daughters Book 4)

Lake Geneva, 1951: Delphine looked up at Florian, her fingers grazing his cheek as she pressed her mouth to his, the sapphire tiara sparkling beside them. “Yes,” she whispered against his lips. “I will marry you. If you can find a way, then I promise you. I will marry you.”

London, present day. Georgia holds the rare pink sapphire in her hands, watching it glitter in the morning light. It was left for her at Hope’s House, a home for unmarried mothers whose babies were adopted. But how is it connected to the secrets of her family’s complicated history?

Georgia tries to forget about the sapphire, her heart too bruised by past hurts. But when she discovers the gemstone was part of a priceless tiara owned by the Italian royal family, she is drawn in by the mystery surrounding it. Her only way of finding answers is to travel to Lake Geneva to meet with the man who inherited the stunning tiara from his grandfather.

When she arrives at the breathtaking lakeside city, handsome Luca tells her he’s been searching for the missing stone for years and is eager to piece together how it arrived at Hope’s House. As they spend sun-drenched days together, Georgia and Luca grow closer and uncover the passionate, forbidden love story of Delphine and Florian, whose tragic romance forced Delphine to make a heartbreaking decision with devastating consequences…

As Georgia comes to terms with the decades-old secret, will it shatter everything she thought she knew about herself? Or will Delphine’s courage inspire her to open up her own heart and build a new life with Luca?

A completely gripping and escapist read about family mysteries and true love that lasts a lifetime, that will leave you spellbound. The perfect read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.

This novel can be enjoyed as a standalone.

I didn’t realize this book was part of a series. It reads fine as a standalone, but now I’d like to get to know the other characters and see how their stories connect.

The story unfolds in two timelines. In 1951, Lake Geneva, Switzerland, Delphine is trapped in a loveless marriage. When she meets Florian, love grows, but a public relationship seems impossible. Love will find a way, though. Sadly, before that happens, tragedy strikes, and the only tangible proof of their love is the child Delphine carries – a child she cannot keep.

In modern-day London, Georgia is a successful businesswoman. She receives a summons to a law office, where she is given a small box that was found at a place called Hope’s House. What’s the connection between her family and a home for unwed mothers? The mystery deepens when Georgia opens the box to find a valuable pink sapphire, one that’s been missing for years from a tiara formerly owned by the Italian royal family. Her efforts to learn the stone’s history lead her to Switzerland and to Luca, the man whose family has been in possession of the tiara for decades.

I love a good dual-timeline story! Delphine’s story was beautiful but tragic. Georgia’s story offered the possibility of hope, something good to come from the pain of the past. Soraya Lane’s writing style just pulled me into the pages, and if I didn’t want to visit Switzerland before, I certainly do now!

At its heart, this is a story about love. The love between a man and a woman. The love a mother has for her children, choosing to preserve the life her existing children know and choosing to give her unborn child a chance at a better, happier life. I was adopted as an infant, and I’ve met both sides of my birth family. My heart ached for the choice Delphine was compelled to make, even knowing she was doing the best she knew to do under difficult circumstances and making that decision out of love for all her children. And I loved the discovery Georgia made about her family. Sometimes family secrets can bring happy surprises!

This may have been the first of Soraya Lane’s books that I read, but it won’t be the last. Highly recommended if you enjoy a dual-timeline story, an engaging mystery, family found, and sweet romance.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advance copy. I was not obligated to write a review. All opinions here are mine, and I don’t say nice things about books I don’t actually like.

About the author:

Soraya Lane graduated with a law degree before realising that law wasn’t the career for her and that her future was in writing. She is the author of historical and contemporary women’s fiction, including the #1 Kindle bestselling novels The Last Correspondent and The Secrets We Left Behind.

Soraya lives on a small farm in her native New Zealand with her husband, their two young sons and a collection of four-legged friends. When she’s not writing, she loves to be outside playing make-believe with her children or snuggled up inside reading.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Bookouture, Contemporary Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.