Book Review and Blog Tour: Kilt Trip by Alexandra Kiley

KILT TRIP

Alexandra Kiley

On Sale Date: March 5, 2024

Publisher: Canary Street Press

BUY LINKS:
Bookshop.org
B&N
Books A Million
Amazon

About the book:

For fans of Emily Henry and Sarah Morgenthaler comes a brand-new Scotland-set romantic comedy. In this enemies-to-lovers romance, one woman discovers more than the just the magic of the heartland’s lochs and landscapes—but not before clashing with the proud Scotsman she’s forced to work with.

Addie Macrae has always followed her wanderlust. As a travel consultant, she turns struggling businesses into world-class tour groups. Her job comes with the perk of jetsetting around the globe, which means never being in one place for too long—just the way she likes it. Since her mom passed away ten years ago and her father never stopped grieving, no place has felt like home anyway. But when she’s sent on assignment to help a family-run tour group in Scotland—the one place she swore she’d never go—Addie has to shed her emotional baggage and turn on the professional charm.

Logan Sutherland’s family business is operating just fine, thank you very much. The Heart of the Highlands was never meant to make the family rich, rather to teach sightseers to appreciate the beauty of Scotland’s hidden gems, which are more captivating than any tourist trap. The last thing Logan wants is some American “expert” pushing Outlander-themed tours and perpetuating myths about the Loch Ness Monster. And for a travel consultant, Addie oddly doesn’t seem interested in learning about the land Logan loves. Equally put off by each other, the new colleagues clash on every company decision.

Then Logan discovers Addie does have a personal connection to Scotland—it was her late mother’s favorite place, one that now lives on in a handful of faded Polaroids Addie kept from her parents’ Honeymoon. She wants to seek out the places in the pictures, but is worried that she’s too late to capture the wonder of following in her mother’s footsteps. Logan is convinced he can help Addie get some closure, and the two realize, when they agree, they actually work pretty well together. 

But Addie’s contract with The Heart is almost up, and the business is still losing money. They can’t afford distractions, but there’s no denying the intense chemistry between Addie and Logan. Besides, how can Addie do her job properly if she hasn’t explored all Scotland has to offer?

Addie Macrae is a travel consultant. Her current assignment: go to Scotland to help The Heart of the Highlands restructure itself to turn a profit. She’s always avoided Scotland, but this time, it’s her job to go. Logan Sutherland sees no need to revamp what his family business does, thankyouverymuch. He’s proud of the tours he provides – tours that give visitors a taste of the genuine Scotland, not just a gander at the most popular tourist spots. Logan and Addie meet and hit it off under false pretenses, and when he learns that “Heather” from his tour is actually Addie come to turn The Heart upside down, sparks of an entirely different kind fly.

This is an enemies-to-lovers romance that’s a lot of fun to read! Alexandra Kiley writes Scotland in a way that makes it feel like you’re there. I’ve never been, but I’d love to go, and if Logan Sutherland was an actual tour guide, I’d pay good money for one of his tours. I felt like I was learning about Scotland as I read, and I enjoyed that.

The banter and snark between Addie and Logan is fast and furious, and while Logan acknowledges his feelings first, they both fall pretty quick. But they can’t seem to act on those feelings because of their frustrations: Addie that Logan can’t see she wants to help The Heart, and Logan that Addie won’t see past her numbers and ideas to the real beauty of Scotland that he tries to offer on his tours. They finally agree to keep an open mind about the other’s perspective. And when Logan creates a tour for Addie that’s designed to help her connect real places to the faded Polaroids of her mother that she carries, the distance between them starts to lessen.

When the romance finally happens, it’s pretty spicy. There is some on-page adult action that’s more than I usually care to read, but it didn’t really detract much from my overall enjoyment of the book. What did make me want to scream was Addie’s wishy-washyness (is that a word? Sure, it is. I said so). Logan would bare his heart and do his best to be assured that she was equally as committed, she’d talk a good game, and then bam. She’d retreat again, leaving Logan hanging. I get it. Her experience with how her father handled his grief over her mother’s death deeply impacted her. But she was flip-flopping like a beached fish, and it almost made me give up on the book.

I’m glad I didn’t, though. If you’re reading and you find yourself struggling to get past Addie’s antics, if your heart just hurts for Logan, don’t give up. The story resolves in delightful fashion, and you’ll be glad you stuck it out! And bonus points for a man in a kilt.

Thanks to Harlequin Trade Publishing and NetGalley for an advance copy. I was not obligated to write a review. All opinions here are mine, and I don’t say nice things about books I don’t actually like.

About the author:

Alexandra Kiley writes big-hearted romances full of banter, found-family, and deep love. When she’s not writing, you can find her drinking tea, hiking, or gazing adoringly at the mountains of Colorado where she lives with her husband and two kids. Her novels are inspired by her semester in Scotland where she fell in love with not only the lush and magical land, but also the people who invited her into their homes and made her feel like family.

Twitter | Instagram | Website

This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Contemporary Fiction, Harlequin Blog Tours, Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review and Blog Tour: Kilt Trip by Alexandra Kiley

  1. Carla says:

    I just finished this book last night and felt the same way. I wanted to reach into the book and give Addie a shake more than once. I loved Logan and am glad they finally work things out. Great review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.